San Antonio Chapter

NLC San Antonio trains change makers across industries because progress is people-powered

NLC San Antonio develops, connects, and uplifts inclusive, cross-sector leaders who will transform San Antonio through social and political change rooted in equity. From neighborhoods to board rooms, we are working to create the city we aspire to be by empowering leaders and building coalitions at the frontlines of civic engagement. Here, our NLC Family comes together to connect and utilize the strength of our shared values.


Fellows trained since our founding.


Number of years active in San Antonio.


Amount raised to support training for place-based leaders.

“NLC is changing the landscape of San Antonio and beyond. We are building power among the leaders closest to their communities and uplifting their work and their voices. By investing in leaders, right here in our city, we are ensuring that we can build a democracy that is equitable, just, and works for everyone.

– MaryEllen Veliz (she/her)
Chapter Director and 2016 NLC SA Fellow

“NLC enabled me to utilize my gifts in a way that uplifts my community and meet people where they are. They showed me that all I am and have is all I need to strive toward a more equitable world and place I can feel proud to call HOME.”

– Marcus Peoples (he/him)
2020 NLC San Antonio Fellow

“NLC gave me the opportunity to meet like-hearted people who create positive change within the community. Through NLC, I gained invaluable skills that I will continue using to inspire change in others. My NLC family will continue to grow and I am so honored to serve along these change agents.”

– Dr. Lizette Goodloe (she/her)
2021 NLC San Antonio Fellow

2021 Fellows

Eddie Johnson III

Innovation Specialist, City of San Antonio

Read More →
Elizabeth Escobedo

Accountant, San Antonio Water System

Read More →
Geronimo Lopez

Chef/Owner, BOTIKA

Read More →
Gideon Del Rio

Youth Facilitator, Fiesta Youth

Read More →
Kassie Kelly

Membership & Audience Engagement Manager, San Antonio Report

Read More →
Katie Merry

Community Planner, US Air Force Civil Service

Read More →
Kendrick Vela

Senior Account Executive, KGBTexas Communications

Read More →
Lizette Goodloe

AVID Coordinator/Elective Teacher, John Jay High School – Northside ISD

Read More →
Matt Garcia

Attorney, Texas RioGrande Legal Aid

Read More →
Matteo Trevino

Director of Policy & Communications, City Councilwoman Ana Sandoval

Read More →
Matthew Baiza

Community Engagement and Policy Advisor, City Council District 7

Read More →
Noah Fuentes

Chief of Staff & Administrative Officer and Media Liaison, 150th District Court, Collaborative Commission on Domestic Violence

Read More →
Robbie Harris

Principal, Dilley ISD

Read More →
Rocío Guenther

Director of Constituent Services, Office of Mayor Ron Nirenberg

Read More →
Samantha Skory

International Program Coordinator, World Affairs Council of San Antonio

Read More →
Stephanie Gargiulo

Chief of Staff, City Year San Antonio

Read More →
Taylor Watson

Business Relationship Manager, Kamin Associates

Read More →
Zachary Cochran

Chief of Staff, Texas House of Representatives (State Representative Diego M. Bernal)

Read More →



Abe Salinas

Anne Ferguson

Cameron Patterson

Cecily Hope Pretty

Christina Olivarez

Ileana Gonzalez

James Cooper

Jeri-Ashley Bremer

Kristin Flores

Leroy Adams

Marcus Peoples

Matthew Duncan

Racquel Gilford

Rose Barcus

Sakib Shaikh

Sebastien Laroche

Shaun Ford

Stephanie Melchor

Stephanie Phillips

Sydney Knowles


Alex Sarabia

Britanni Greene

Catie White

Christopher Moken

Eliza Grady

Elysia Hulings

Eric Michael Garza

Gerrit Schulze

Jake Reyna-Casanova

Jonathan Tijerina

Kristian Gutierrez

Lauren Snow

Leanne Martinez

Mia Balderas

Patricia Carlisle

Roderick Chambers

Royce Sullivan

Tiffany Galvan


Allison Hu

Ashley Smith

Brencia Berry

Chawanna Chambers

Courtney Wai

Darlene Diaz

Emiliano Romero

Gabriela Santiago

Kevin Shandy

Maria Cesar

Michelle Casillas

Nicholas Lopez

Rebecca Kaufmann Podowski

Shenée Simon

Tessa Benavides

Victoria Gonzalez

Yliana Gonzalez


Chris Stewart

Coda Rayo-Garza

Demonte Alexander

Denise Hernandez

Fatima Menendez

Jessica Estorga

Julia Grizzard

Kristopher Ryan

Mario Bravo

Melanie Castillo

Michelle Swisher

Molly Neck

Sonya Hernandez

Veronica Haywood

Victoria Echeverri


Alberto Altamirano

Brian Dillard

Celeste Brown

Emily Calderon Galdeano

Erika Forbes

H. Drew Galloway

Jose Alberto Vidal

MaryEllen Veliz

Michael Odum

Ruth Morris

Selene Gomez

Shanti Day

Steven Lopez

Thea Setterbo

Support NLC San Antonio