Tampa Bay Chapter

Developing emerging local leaders for a thriving and more equitable Tampa Bay.

NLC Tampa Bay provides emerging leaders with training, mentoring, networking and job placement opportunities that equip them to transform our community through social and political change rooted in equity and justice. Recognizing that progress is inclusive and empowering, NLC makes a special effort to recruit people from outside the usual power structures. NLC is shaping America’s future by developing tomorrow’s leaders today.


On average, we train 18 local changemakers every year.


Our alumni network includes 124 Tampa Bay leaders.


Years serving place-based leaders in Tampa Bay.

I was part of the inaugural class for NLC Tampa Bay in 2014. I owe much of my success to the friendships I gained by joining this dynamic family. We continue to challenge one another and push each other to success. We set out to enact change, to shape policy, to challenge the status quo, to build our own seats at the table and with every year that passes, I see that we have accomplished that and so much more. We hold elected office, we run nonprofits, we are making decisions in corporate America and most importantly, many of us are building the next generation of leaders. I am always in awe of the caliber of people that join my NLC family and I can’t wait to see what’s next.

– Lorena Rivas Hardwick (she/her)
2014 NLC Tampa Bay Fellow

NLC Tampa Bay connected me with other young leaders in my community who shared the same values and passions for a shared vision of the world in which we want to live. Being a part of the larger NLC community has connected me with a dynamic network of leaders, activists, and organizers who are working to shape a brighter future that works for all.

– James Chan (he/him)
2016 NLC Tampa Bay Fellow

Over the years, NLC Tampa Bay has been at the forefront of training and uplifting leaders who reflect the diversity of our region. I am proud to be a part of this community that continues to invest in bold and fresh leadership.

– Maya Brown (she/her)
2016 NLC Tampa Bay Fellow

2023 Fellows



Alexandria Matos

Alondra Vidal Diaz

Anthony Close

Cassidy Whittaker

Christopher Hinojo

Conner Jure

Denisha Thornton

Elizabeth Wilson

Iveline Box

Janae Thomas

Mahdi Kassam

Matthew Chernesky

Michael Fittro

Michael Womack

Patrick Mims

Shaquana Harper

Will Shedden


Anna Breedlove

Ben Sharpe

Bryan Casañas-Scarsella

Caprice Smith

Carly Kien

Devan Cheaves

Dina Spahic

Jeff Cox

John Godwin

Josh Dunn

Katrina Oliver

Kende Clemons

Mario Manago

Marshelle Brooks

Monique Mavour

Sam(ira) Obeid

Sharon Graham

Tori Simmons


Amy Bolick

Angela Viviana Martinez

Brandon Carey

Brittney Richards

Charles Martínez-Cartagena

Gretchell Trochez-Triguero

Keto Nord Hodges

Kiana Romeo

Maria Jose Chapa

Masatoshi Mochizuki

Miguel Davila

Nicholas Fox

Pascale Edouard

Rebecca Fiore

Whitney Fox

Z’Kera Sims


Ajay Malshe

Amanda Corsentino

Angel Williams

Belinthia Berry

Bernard (Dexter) Lewis

Brandon Ledford

Christine Durrance

Jamaris Glenn

Jen McDonald

Kimberly Williams

Kisha Linebaugh

Kristy Andre

Marcus Klebe

Maria Trogolo

Monica Simmonds

Paula Baracaldo

Remus Bulmer

Sergio Florez

Terrell Russell

Tristan Pike


Alan Borden

Alexandra Esparza

Allison Nguyen

Christopher Lipson

Cornelius Demps

Elizabeth Mack

Ericka McThenia

Eve Epstein

Faithe Estes

Jasmine Mattear

Jessie Schneider

Justin Callahan

Lisa Thelwell

Maj Vasigh

Mike Brenner

Nestor Ortiz

Ruan Cox

Ryan Mitchell

Tamara Shamburger

Tammy Charles

Trenae Gayle

Xuan Hurt


Ali Ishaq

Amina Spahic

Angela Leiner

Breanna Adams

Christopher Cano

David Hughes

Francesca Yabraian

James Chan

Jamie Klapholz

Jennifer Webb

Julius Adams

Liz Prisley

Maya Brown

Michael Alvarez

Sarah Marshall

Stephanie Garza

Steven Angotti

Tom Alte

Veronica Schell


Ali Ishaq

Bert McBride

Canaan McCaslin

Cesar Hernandez

John Brown

Johnny Bardine

Kyle McIntyre

Laila Abdelaziz

Lillian Okpaleke

Mariuxi Cely

Michael Maurino

Nicholas Glover

Ralph Reid

Tarance LeNoir


Nikki Gaskin-Capehart

Angela Horvath

Caitlyn Miller

Christopher Fils

Daniel James Scott

Hannah Strom

Kevin Sanderson

Lorena Hardwick

Mary Scott Hardwick

Nereia Cormier

Sam Gibbons

Sarah Ogdie

Stephen Liverpool

Timothy Heberlein

Victoria Kirby

Support NLC Tampa Bay