Des Moines Chapter

Cultivating transformative leadership and sparking community engagement for Central Iowa’s up and coming changemakers.

Through unique training opportunities and powerful community partnerships, New Leaders Council Des Moines enables emerging leaders to succeed. We utilize our shared expertise and expansive network to place our alumni in positions where they can build action-oriented coalitions and make a transformative impact in the community around us.


Since our founding, we’ve served over 100 local changemakers.


Over 60 Fellows continued engagement through chapter board service after completing their Fellowship.


Over a dozen alumni ran for office, while countless other serve on boards and commissions

NLC is a great experience where you can integrate yourself into a welcoming network of people who share the same values.

– Elizabeth Medina (she/her)
2019 NLC Des Moines Fellow

Most importantly for me, I was able to learn from leaders both local and national about how to become a better leader within my work life, a better leader on the nonprofit boards that I serve, and just a better human.

– Sara Krzyczkowski (she/her)
2020 NLC Des Moines Fellow

NLC will catapult you forward in your personal and professional goals while also creating new leaders to impact our community through a progressive lens.

– Heather Jones-Brown (she/her)
2016 NLC Des Moines Fellow

2021 Fellows

Ebonee Woods

Business & Community Partnerships Coordinator, Des Moines Area Regional Transit (DART)

Read More →
Emilee Harris

Program Manager, State Public Policy Group

Read More →
Justyn Lewis

Founder, President; Owner, Des Moines’ Selma; Lewis Lawn & Labor

Read More →



Ebonee Woods

Emilee Harris

Justyn Lewis


Aedan Madrigal

Cindy Garcia

Dani Ausen

DeAn Kelly

Gabriela Fuentes

Holly Thayer

Isabelle Barrett

Ivania Guerra

Jordan Bancroft

Kelly Marble

Lauren McElmeel

Megan McAfee

Michelle Bouziden

Rinora Jelliqi

Sara Krzyczkowski

Tulia Mulemba

Victoria Lundgren


Ashley Parker

Benjamin Breuer

Chelsea Chism-Vargas

Elizabeth Medina

Emmett Phillips

Erica Barz

Erma Mujic

Heather Strachan

Joe Caldwell

Kevin Patrick

Kylie Gottschalk

Meg Card

Nadia La Fontant

Sebastian Hamirani

Tiffany Allison

Victoria Moon

Virginia Griesheimer


Adriyel Mondloch

Ashley Vanorny

Austin Baeth

Blake Loomis

Bobby Baccam

Dawson Davenport

Elizabeth Blind

Hana Kajtazovic

Janae Burgmeier

Jessica Avant

Keenan Crow

Kristen Daily

Marlu Abarca

Matt Becke

Megan Srinivas

Robert Rushing

Sarah Myren

Tammy Armstrong

Taylor McKee


Benjamin Cobley

Chelsea Lepley

Chloe Gearhart

Elsa Goldman

Erin Cubit

Holly Herbert

Jaime Yowler

Johnny Alcivar

Kalyn Cody

Kerri Sorrell

Kyrstin Delagardelle

Lindsey Mabe

Luke Stadtler

Luke Elzinga

Molly Hanson

Naomi Ramsay

Phouthasack Keopraseuth

Rachel Lunsford

Samantha Kemp Carlin

William Oppermann


Christina Blackcloud

Cicely Gordon

Claire Richmond

Comfort Dondo

Courtney Guntly

Heather Jones

Hector Salamanca Arroyo

Jordan Murphy

Josh Hellyer

Josh Skipworth

Madeline Cano

Mandy McWherter

Matt Hauge

Mazie Stilwell

Monica Biddix

Zach Steele


Amanda Thys

Caroline Jones

Caroline Dvorsky

Eric Bridges

Erica Shannon Stueve

Gracie Brandsgard

Jamie Stokka

Megan Bendixen

Michelle Grau

Natalie Koerber

Nathan Erickson

Patrick Rynard

Reed Clayton

Ruth Lapointe

Travis Lloyd

Vanessa Marcano-Kelly


Alicia Kuhle

Ann Dvorsky

Brandt Johnson

Carmen Garcia

Christopher Merkle

E.B. Updegraff

Jessie Hill

Kaitryn Patchett

Karla Bromwell

Katy Stovall

Kelli Lydon

Leslie Berckes

Maggie Carlson

Rhonda Greenway

Sarah Jacobson

Stacie Bendixen


Alex Stanton

Amy Olson

Anthony Garcia

Ash Bruxvoort

Crystal Harris

Erin Wickering

K.O. Myers

Kotheid Nicoue

Lacey Howard

Matthew Blake

Rachel Scheib

Sharon Wegner

Shayla Price

Zachary Bales-Henry

Zachary Engstrom


Annika Schilke

Benjamin Williams

Brian Guillaume

Francis Musignac

Indira Blazevic

Jaimie Miller

Jason Wells

Kelli Todd

Kendra Malone

Lorin Ditzler

Matt Denner

Michael Weeks

Molly Kotval

Nicole Rommero

Sara Crouse

Stephen Lauer

Thomas Vance

Zebulon Beilke-McCallum


Alana Stamas

Alexander Grgurich

Andrea Diaz

Anthony Rodari

Beth Conley

Burke Milnes

Jen Goings

Kate Burgener

Lynzey Tharp

Michael McRae

Miriam De Dios

Nathaniel Boulton

Nicole Moriniere

Rachel Dakarian

Ryan Crane

Shannon Sanders

Support NLC Des Moines