November 14, 2020

election wins header

Updated 11/18/2020 @ 4:45 pm ET

In a year like no other in our lived history, New Leaders Council alumni, advisory board members, and founding board members showed up for democracy in momentous ways. 74 folks - and counting - won their elections this year, with the majority of those wins coming in state legislatures.

We’re proud of every brave alum who stepped up to run, regardless of the outcome.   And we celebrate all of the NLC alum who registered voters, worked on campaigns, volunteered their time as poll workers and election protectors, organized childcare for voters, and got out the vote, all of which has led to the highest turnout in over a century. 

Here's a full rundown of all of the folks who won their offices this year. We will continue to update this list as results come in.


NLC 2020 Election Wins 111520



Elizabeth Cabrera, Montebello Unified School Board (NLC Los Angeles)

Karen Gallagher, Campbell Union High School District, Trustee Area 5 (NLC Silicon Valley)

Carla Hernandez, Oak Grove School District, Trustee Area 5 (NLC Silicon Valley)

Yasmine-Imani McMorrin, Culver City Council (NLC Los Angeles)

Devin Murphy, Pinole City Council (NLC San Francisco)

Ican Rosales Montes, Morgan Hill Unified School District, Trustee Area 5 (NLC Silicon Valley)

Jesus Salazar, Luther Burbank Unified School District, At-Large (NLC Silicon Valley)

Marc Berman, California State Assembly District 24 (NLC Silicon Valley Advisory Board)


Jennifer Bacon, Colorado House of Representatives District 7 (NLC Denver Advisory Board)


Alexandria Ayala, Palm Beach County School Board (NLC Palm Beach)

Ben Diamond, Florida House of Representatives District 68 (NLC Tampa Bay)

Rob Long, Palm Beach Soil & Water Conservation District (NLC Palm Beach)

Nancy Metayer, Commissioner, City of Coral Springs (NLC Broward)

Jack Porter, Tallahassee City Commission (NLC Tallahassee)

Harold Pryor, State Attorney, Broward County (NLC Broward)

Joevahn Scott, Supervisor of Elections, Broward County (NLC Broward)

Loranne Ausley, Florida State Senate - District 3 (NLC Honorary Co-Chair)


Bee Nguyen, Georgia House of Representatives - District 89 (NLC Atlanta)

Darius Pattillo, Hentry County District Attorney (NLC Atlanta)

Jared Williams, Augusta District Attorney (NLC Augusta)

Nikema Williams, U.S. House of Representatives - GA-05 (NLC Atlanta)


Lauren Underwood, U.S. House of Representatives - IL-14 (NLC DC)

Kim Foxx, Cook County State's Attorney (NLC Honorary Co-Chair)


Nate Boulton, Iowa State Senate District 16 (NLC Des Moines)

Lindsay James, Iowa House of Representatives District 99 (NLC Wisconsin)


Austin Vowels, Henderson City Commissioner (NLC Kentucky)

Josie Raymond, Kentucky House of Representatives District 31 (NLC Kentucky)


Tram Nguyen, Massachusetts House of Representatives 18th Essex District (NLC Boston)


Chris LaTondresse, Hennepin County Commissioner District 7 (NLC DC & NLC Twin Cities)

Jamie Long, Minnesota House of Representatives District 61B (NLC DC)


Emma Kerr-Carpenter, Montana House of Representatives District 49 (NLC Montana)

Ellie Hill Smith, Montana State Senate District 45 (NLC Montana Co-Founder)

Kelly Kortum, Montana House of Representatives District 65 (NLC Montana)

Katie Sullivan, Montana House of Representatives District 89 (NLC Montana)


Tony Vargas, Nebraska State Senate District 7 (NLC Omaha)

New Hampshire

Manny Espitia, New Hampshire House of Representatives Hillsborough 31 (NLC New Hampshire)

Amanda Gourgue, New Hampshire House of Representatives Stafford 25 (NLC New Hampshire)

Willis Griffith, New Hampshire House of Representatives Hillsborough 18 (NLC New Hampshire)

Allison Nutting-Wong, New Hampshire House of Representatives Hillsborough 32 (NLC New Hampshire)

Ellen Read, New Hampshire House of Representatives Rockingham 17 (NLC New Hampshire)

New Jersey

Kim Case, Long Hill Township Board of Education (NLC New Jersey)

Jennifer Keyes-Maloney, Ewing Township Council (NLC New Jersey)

New York

Alessandra Biaggi, New York State Senate District 34 (NLC NYC)

North Carolina

Nida Allam, Durham City Commissioner (NLC North Carolina)

Terry Brown, North Carolina House of Representatives District 92 (NLC North Carolina)

Ricky Hurtado, North Carolina House of Representatives District 63 (NLC North Carolina)


Dontavius Jarrells, Ohio House of Representatives District 25 (NLC Columbus)


Liz Hanbridge, Pennsylvania House of Representatives District 61 (NLC Philadelphia)

Emily Kinkead, Pennsylvania House of Representatives District 20 (NLC Pittsburgh)

Rhode Island

Karen Alzate, Rhode Island House of Representatives District 60 (NLC Rhode Island) 

Tatiana Baena, Central Falls Council (NLC Rhode Island)

Sandra Cano, Rhode Island State Senate District 8 (NLC Rhode Island)

Stephen Larbi, Pawtucket School Committee (NLC Rhode Island) 

Roberto Moreno, Pawtucket School Committee (NLC Rhode Island) 

Elena Vasquez, Pawtucket Council (NLC Rhode Island) 

Jessica Vega, Central Falls Council (NLC Rhode Island) 


Vincent Dixie, Tennessee House of Representatives District 54(NLC Nashville)

London Lamar, Tennessee House of Representatives District 91 (NLC Nashville)


Joe Carreón, Dallas ISD School Board District 8 (NLC Dallas)

Tiffanie Harrison, Round Rock ISD School Board Place 6 (NLC Austin)

Kristen Hawkins, Judge, Texas 11th District Court (NLC Houston)

Diego Bernal, Texas State House District 123  (NLC San Antonio Advisory Board)

Lloyd Doggett, U.S. House of Representatives - TX-35 (NLC San Antonio Advisory Board)

Rebecca Martinez, Chief Justice, Texas 4th Circuit of Appeals (NLC San Antonio Advisory Board)


Vernon Tillage, Portsmouth City School Board (NLC Virginia)

Washington DC

Christina Henderson, DC Council At-Large (NLC DC)

Victoria Clark, DC Advisory Neighborhood Commissioner (NLC North Carolina)


Tip McGuire, Wisconsin State Assembly District 64 (NLC Wisconsin)

Jimmy Anderson, Wisconsin State Assembly District 47 (NLC Wisconsin Advisory Board)

Dianne Hesselbein, Wisconsin State Assembly District 79 (NLC Wisconsin Advisory Board)

Melissa Sargent, Wisconsin State Senate District 16 (NLC Wisconsin Advisory Board)

Katrina Shankland, Wisconsin State Assembly District 71 (NLC Wisconsin Advisory Board)

Mark Spreitzer, Wisconsin State Assembly District 45 (NLC Wisconsin Advisory Board)